Meeting Chat in Microsoft Teams

28 May 2020 3-minute read Al Eardley
Microsoft 365Meetings
Microsoft Teams

Challenge

Within Microsoft Teams meetings, there is a chat capability visible to all attendees (those invited to the meeting) and participants (those added to an instance of a meeting).

After a meeting has ended, participants can still see the meeting chat

Roles

There are three roles in a meeting

Organiser

The person who creates the meeting. They have full access to edit the meeting in every way.

Attendee

A person who has been invited to attend the meeting and has either accepted or declined the invite. If they have accepted the meeting, then it will show in their Outlook and Microsoft Teams calendars and they will be able to join the meeting.

Participant

A participant is a person who has been invited to join a running meeting. They will not have an invite for the meeting, and it will not show up in their calendars. If it is a recurring meeting, they will attend only the single instance.

Meeting Types

There are two types of meeting:

  • Those that are within Channels
  • Those that are not

The chat capability is available in both types of meeting, however, for meetings within Channels, it is not available to attendees who are not a member of the Microsoft Team hosting the Channel.

Scenario Recreation

I have recreated the scenario as follows:

Step View from Attendee View from Participant
Cara Coleman creates a meeting and invites Arden Asher
They create messages in the chat for the meeting
Admin user (Participant) is invited into the meeting from the current meeting

Admin user can see no historical chat messages if they have not been in the meeting before
All users exchange chat messages visible to all
The meeting ends
All users can still submit new content to the chat

Solution

Remove from Meeting

Step View from Attendee View from Participant
From within a meeting, Admin can be removed
Participants can then re-join the meeting, and they will still have access to the chat

This process DOES NOT achieve the aim of removing access to chat content.

Remove from Chat

Step View from Attendee View from Participant
Cara Coleman removes Admin from Chat
Admin now has access to see the chat they participated in
Admin cannot add new messages

This process DOES achieve the aim of removing access to the chat

Add to Meeting Again

If the participant needs to be added to the meeting again, what will they see?

Step View from Attendee View from Participant
Cara Coleman starts another meeting and chat content is added.

The meeting is ended
Cara Coleman starts another meeting and chat content is added. Then Admin is invited as participant. Admin can only see the messages that were posted when they were a participant: nothing from the second meeting.

Participant Leaving Meeting

Step View from Attendee View from Participant
Participants can leave meeting chats of their own accord.

Retrospectively Remove Access

There is no way to retrospectively remove access to chat from a participant of a meeting.

Table of Contents


Comment on this post: